Nuclear Power Plants In India

Nuclear Power Plants in India

List of Nuclear Power Plants In India: The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) established with Presidential Order on August 3, 1954, is the head of the department in the development of nuclear power technology, applications of radiation technologies in India

Nuclear Power is the 5th largest source of electricity after our conventional electrical production from Coal, Gas, Hydroelectricity, and wind power. Nuclear power is the use of nuclear reactions to generate a huge amount of heat which mostly used in steam turbines for the production of electricity in nuclear power generation. Nuclear fission of Uranium and Plutonium is used for producing Nuclear power. The total capacity of Nuclear Power in India as of March 2018 is 6,780, MegaWatt with 22 Nuclear reactors in 7 Nuclear Power plants across India

Presently Operational Nuclear Power Plants in India with Capacity

Power Station State Capacity 
Kaiga Karnataka 880 MW
Kudankulam Tamil Nadu 2000 MW
Kakrapar Gujarat 440 MW
Kalpakkam Tamil Nadu 440 MW
Narora Uttar Pradesh 440 MW
Rajasthan Rajasthan 1180 MW
Tarapur Maharashtra 1400 MW
Total 6,780 MW

Note: Largest Nuclear power plant in India is Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu with a total capacity of 2000MW

Nuclear Power plant in Tamil Nadu: Kudankulam and Kalpakkam

Nuclear Power plant in Maharashtra: Tarapur

Nuclear Power Plant in Uttar Pradesh: Narora

Nuclear Power Plant in Karnataka: Kaiga

Nuclear Power Plant in Rajasthan: Rajasthan

Nuclear Power Plant in Gujarat: Kakrapar

Nuclear Power Plants in India Under Construction

Power Station State Capacity Expected in Operation
Kalpakkam Tamil Nadu 500 MW 2020
Kakrapar Unit 3 and 4 Gujarat 1400 MW 2022
Gorakhpur Haryana 1400 MW 2025
Kudankulam Unit 3 and 4 Tamil Nadu 2000 MW 2025
Rajasthan Unit 7 and 8 Rajasthan 1400 MW 2022
Total 6700  MW

Planned Nuclear Power Plants in India

Power Station State Capacity
Tarapur Maharashtra 300 MW
Jaitapur Maharashtra 9,900 MW
Kovvada Andhra Pradesh 6,600 MW
Kavali Andhra Pradesh 6000 MW
Gorakhpur Haryana 1400 MW
Bhimpur Madhya Pradesh 2800 MW
Mahi Banswara Rajasthan 2800 MW
Kaiga Karnataka 1400 MW
Chutka Madhya Pradesh 1400 MW
Kudankulam Unit 5 and 6 Tamil Nadu 2000 MW
Madras Tamil Nadu 1200 MW
Total 41,800 MW


Srinagar (Jammu and Kashmir): Nuclear Research Laboratory(BARC)

Gulmarg (Jammu and Kashmir): High Altitude Research Laboratory (BARC)

Indore (Madhya Pradesh): Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology INDUS -1&2

Rawtbhatta (Rajasthan)
Rajasthan Atomic Power Station 1-6 (NPCIL)

Rajasthan Atomic Power Project 7&8 (NPCIL)
Heavy Water Plant- Kota (HWB), RAPPCOF-Kota (BRIT)

Mount Abu (Rajasthan): Gurushikher Observatory for Astrophysical Sciences (BARC)

Gandhinagar (Gujarat): Institute for Plasma Research

Baroda (Gujarat): Heavy Water Plant (HWB)

Karkrapar (Gujarat)
Kakrapar Atomic Power Station 1,2 (NPCIL)

Kakrapar Atomic Power Project 3,4 (NPCIL)

Hazira (Gujarat): Heavy Water Plant (HWB)

Tarapur (Maharashtra)
Tarapur Atomic Power Station 1-4 (NPCIL)
Power Reactor Fuel
Reprocessing Plant (BARC)
Advanced Fuel Fabrication Facility(BARC)
General Services Organisation

Mumbai (Maharashtra)
Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (HQ)

Indian Rare Earths Ltd (HQ)
Heavy Water Board (HQ)
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre
Radiation Medicine Centre (BARC)

Nasik (Maharashtra): Krushak (BARC)

Navi Mumbai (Maharashtra)
Board of Radiation & Isotope Technology (HQ)
Radio-pharmaceutical Laboratories (BRIT)
Radiation Processing Plant (BRIT)
Labelled Compounds Laboratory (BRIT)
Radiation Equipment Production Facility (BRIT)
Beryllium Plant (BARC)
Electron Beam Centre (BARC)

Thal (Maharashtra): Heavy Water Plant (HWB)

Mysore (Karnataka): Rare Materials Project (BARC)

Bengaluru (Karnataka): Radio-pharmaceutical Laboratories (BRIT)

Gauribidanur (Karnataka): Seismic Station (BARC)

Kaiga (Karnataka): Kaiga Generating Station 1-4 (NPCIL)

Chavara (Kerala): Minerals Separation Plant (IRE)

Udyomandal (Alwaye) (Kerala): Rare Earths Plant (IRE)

Kollam (Kerala): Low Radiation Research Laboratory (BARC)

Manavalakuruchi (Tamil Nadu): Minerals Separation Plant (IRE)

Palayakayal (Tamil Nadu): New Zirconium Sponge Plant (NFC)

Kundakulam (Tamil Nadu): Kudankulam Atomic Power Project (NPCIL)

Tuticorin (Tamil Nadu): Heavy Water Plant (HWB)

Kalpakkam (Tamil Nadu) 
Madras Atomic Power Station (NPCIL)
Bharatiya Nabhikiya Vidyut Nigam Ltd.(HQ)
Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research
PFBR Project (IGCAR)
Nuclear Desalination Demonstration Plant (BARC)
Kalpakkam Fuel Reprocessing Plant (BARC)
General Services Organisation

Chennai (Tamil Nadu): Institute of Mathematical Sciences

Hyderabad (Telangana)
Electronics Corporation of India Ltd.(HQ)
Nuclear Fuel Complex (HQ)
Jonaki Laboratory (BRIT)
Centre for Compositional Characterisation of Materials (BARC)
Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration & Research (HQ)

Manuguru (Telangana): Heavy Water Plant (HWB)

Chhatrapur (Orissa): Orissa Sand Complex Thorium Plant

Bhubaneswar (Orissa)
Institute of Physics

National Institute of Science Education and Research

Talcher (Orissa): Heavy Water Plant D2EHPA Plant

Dibrugarh (Assam): Radio-Immunoassay Centre (BRIT)

Kolkata (West Bengal)
Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre
Regional Radiation Medicine Centre (VECC)
Radio-pharmaceutical Laboratory (BRIT)
Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics

Jaduguda, Bhatin (Jharkhand)
Uranium Corporation of India Limited (HQ)

Uranium Mill & Mine (UCIL)

Narwapahar (Jharkhand): Uranium Mine (UCIL)

Banduhurang (Jharkhand): Uranium Mine (UCIL)

Turamdih (Jharkhand): Uranium Mill & Mine (UCIL)

Mohuldih(Jharkhand): Uranium Mine (UCIL)

Bagjata (Jharkhand): Uranium Mine (UCIL)

Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh): Harish-Chandra Research Institute

Narora (Uttar Pradesh): Narora Atomic Power Station

Kasan (Delhi): Seismic Array Station BARC

Delhi: Radio-pharmaceutical Laboratories (BRIT)

Bahadurgarh (Haryana): Global Centre for Nuclear Energy Partnership

Tummalapalle (Andhra Pradesh): Uranium Mill & Mine (UCIL)

BRNS: Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences
HBNI: Homi Bhabha National Institute
NBHM: National Board for Higher Mathematics
SSSF: Solid Storage Surveillance Facility
WIP: Waste Immobilisation Plant
AEES: Atomic Energy Education Society
ACTREC: Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research Education in Cancer
TIFR: Tata institute of fundamental research
TMC: Tata Memorial Centre
DCS&EM: Directorate of Construction, Services & Estate Management
DPS: Directorate of Purchase & Stores

Link: Download Nuclear Power Plants in India Map | Password: fdaytalk

Source: DAE