Football Related GK Questions

List of Football Trophies in India

Indian Football Captain : Sunil Chhetri (As on Feb 2019)

Head coach : Stephen Constantine (UK)

Santosh Trophy (Football)

The Santosh Trophy is an association football knock – out competition contested by the regional state associations and government institutions under the All India Football Federation (AIFF), the sport’s governing body in India

Many players who have represented India internationally played and gained notoriety while playing in the Santosh Trophy

Since : 1941

Country : India

For 2016 – 17 (71st)

Winner : West Bengal Runner: Goa Venue : Held in Goa, 12 – 26 March 2017

Durand Cup (Football)

The Durand Football Tournament or Durnad Cup is a football competition in India which was first held in 1888. It is co – hosted by the Durnad Football Tournament Society (DFTS) and Osians

Durnand Cup is Asia’s oldest and third oldest in the world

Since : 1888

Country : India

For 2016 (128th)

Winner : Army Green

Runner : NEROCA

Venue : Ambedkar Stadium

New Delhi 28 – 08 – 2016 to 11 – 09 – 2016

South Asian Football Federation Championship (SAFF)

The South Asian Football Federation Championship, also called South Asian Football Federation Cup is the main association football competition of the men’s national football teams governed by the South Asia Football Federation

Since : 1993

For 2015 (11th)

Host Country : India

Winner : India

Runner : Afghanistan

Venue : Trivendrum International Stadium, Kerala, 23 – 12 – 2015 to 03 – 01 – 2016

For 2018 (12th)

Host Country : Bangladesh

Venue : In Bangladesh, 1 – 12 May 2018

Asian Cup (Football)

The AFC Asian Cup is an international association football tournament run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC)

It is the second oldest continental football championship in the world after COPA America
The winning team becomes the champion of Asia and automatically qualifies for the FIFA Confederations Cup

The Asia Cup will be held every four years

Since : 1956

For 2015 (16th)

Host Country : Australia

Winner : Australia

Runner : South Korea

Venue : in Australia, 6 – 2 – 2013 to 5 – 3 – 2014

For 2019 (17th)

Host Country : United Arab Emirates

Venue : in UAE, 5 January – 1 February 2019

COPA America Football

The COPA America (America Cup) is an international men’s football tournament contested between national teams from CONMEBOL. It is the oldest international continental football competition

COPA America Football cup held in every four years

Since : 1916

Region : South America (CONMEBOL)

For 2016 (100th)

Host Country : United States

Winner : Chile

Runner : Argentina

Venue : in United States, 3 – 6 June 2016

For 2019 (101st)

EURO Cup (Football)

The UEFA European Championship (known informally as the Euros) is the primary association football competition by the senior men’s national teams of the members of the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), determining the continental champion of Europe

Held in every four years

Since : 1960

For 2016 (15th)

Host Country : France

Winner : Portugal

Runner : France

Venue : in France, 10 June – 10 July 2016

For 2020 (16th)

Host Country : 13 Countries

Dates : June – July 2020

FIFA World Cup (Football)

The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body

Held in every four years

Since : 1930

For 2018 (21st)

Host Country : Russia

Dates : 14 June – 15 July 2018

FIFA Confederation Cup(Football)

The FIFA Confederations Cup is an international association football tournament for national teams, currently held every four years of each of the six (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC) regional championships, along with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the no. of teams up to eight

Since : 1992

For 2017 (10th)

Host Country : Russia

Dates : 17 June – 2 July 2017

Winner : Runner : Place :

Indian Super League (Football)

The Indian Super League (ISL) is a men’s professional football league in India. The league is officially named the Hero Indian Super League for sponsorship reasons.

The Indian Super League was founded in 2013 in an effort to make football a top sport in India and to increase the level of Indian football worldwide

The league runs from October to early December every year

Since : 2014

Country : India

For 2016 (3rd)

Winner : Atletico de Kolkata

Runner : Kerala Blasters

Venue : Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi (Kerala) 20 December 2016


Federation Cup

Nehru Cup

Nizam Gold Cup

Subratho Cup

Rovers Cup

Mardeka Cup

BC Roy Cup

DCM Trophy

Europe League

Colombo Cup

Indira Gandhi Trophy


Related Terms

Goal, Corner- kick, Free kick, Red Card, Yellow card, Foul, Trapping, Heading, Penalty, Pass, Forward, Dribble, Half, Give & Go

Learn More

Link 1 – Latest Central government Jobs 2019

Link 2 – Sarkari Naukri Recruitment Admit cards download

Link 3 – Complete Banking Awareness MCQ Notes

Link 4 – Complete Gk Gs for Competitive Exams

Link 5 – Indian Constitution Notes for competitive Exams

Link 6 – Top Books for Competitive Exams

Link 7 – Download Quantitative and Aptitude Competitive Exams

Related Search:

Santosh trophy, santosh trophy 2017, santosh trophy is related to, santosh trophy football, santosh trophy is related to which sports, football santosh trophy, santosh cup,durand cup, durand cup 2017, durand cup football 2017 won by, south asian football federation championship, asia cup 2018, asia cup 2017, asia cup hockey, asia cup 2016, asia cup cricket, asia cup football, asian cricket council, hockey india asia cup, fifa world cup 2018 qualifiers asia, fifa qualifiers asia, Federation Cup, Nehru Cup, Nizam Gold Cup, Subratho Cup, Rovers Cup, Mardeka Cup, BC Roy Cup, DCM Trophy, indian football


6 Best PC Games like Fall Guys in 2024 6 Best Gaming Phones to Play Free Fire MAX in India (2024) 6 Best Gaming Phones for BGMI in India (2024) 10 Best Building Games on PC in 2024 Review: Why Buy Lava Blaze Curve 5G? Sale is Live!