Head office : Newyork
Established : 26 June 1945
Since : 24 October 1945
Members : 193
Sec. General : Antonio Guterres (Portuguese)

Divisions in UNO are 

The General Assembly
The Security Council
The Economic & Social Council
International Court of Justice
Trusteeship Council

The General Assembly

Head Office : New York
Members : All
President : Peter Thomson

Meeting will be started every year third Thursday of September

Security Council

Head Office : New York
President : Elbio Rosselli
Five permanent and ten non- permanent members
Five permanent members = USA, UK, Russia, China and France

The Economic & Social Council

Head Office : New York
President : Frederick Musiiwa Makamure Shava

Trusteeship Council

Head Office : New York

International Court of Justice

Head Office : The Hague (Netherlands)
President : Peter Tomka
Members : 15 Judges + 1 Chief Justice

15 Judges for 9 years & Chief Justice for 3 years

Justice DalveerBhandari (India) also one of the member up to 2018

The Secretariat

Head Office : New York
UNO official languages = 6
France, Arabic, Chinese, English, Russian, Spanish (FACE Rs)

UNICEF (United Nations International Emergency Fund)

The United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) is a United Nations programme headquarted in New York City that provides humanitarian and development assistance to the children and mothers in developing countries

Headquarters : New York & Geneva
Established : 11 December 1946
Director : Anthony Lake (USA)

UNDP (United Nations Development Program)

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) is the United Nations’ global development network
UNDP advocates for change and connects countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life

Headquarters : New York
Established : 1965
Director : Achim Steiner (Brazil)

UN Women

The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women, also known as UN Women, is a United Nations entity working for the empowerment of women

Headquarters : New York
Established : 2 July 2010
Director : Phumzile Mlambo Ngcuka (South Africa)

World Bank

The World Bank is an International financial institution that provides loans to countries of the world for capital programs

It comprises two institutions, the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), and the International Development Association (IDA)

Headquarters : Washington DC, U S A
Established : July 1945
Motto : Working for a World Free of Poverty
Members : 189
President : Jim Yong Kim (South Korea – USA)

ILO (International Labor Organization)

The International Labour Organization (ILO) is a United Nations agency dealing with labour problems, particularly international standards, social protection and work opportunities for all

Headquarters : Geneva (Switzerland)
Established : 1919
Members : 187
CEO : Guy Rider (UK)

UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees)

The office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), also known as the UN Refugee Agency, is a United Nations programme mandated to protect and support refugees at the request of a government or the UN itself and assists in their voluntary repatriation, local integration or resettlement to a third country

The UNHCR has won two Nobel Peace Prizes, once in 1954 and again in 1981

Headquarters : Geneva (Switzerland)
Established : 14 December 1950
Director : Filippo Grandi (Italy)

By  Jillella Mahalaxmaiah ([email protected])

Is This Content Useful For You?