Making Of Indian Constitution – PART 2

Indian Constitution

Constituent Assembly of India

Constitution of India is made by separate body known as Constituent Assembly, established in 1946 after the recommendation of Cabinet Mission Plan.

Cabinet Mission– All the members of cabinet mission are cabinet ministers in the British government

Members are, Patheic Lawrence (Chairman)


                       Stafford Cripps.

British Prime Minister Altee (Labour Party), who declared independence of India – August 15,1947.

Constituent Assembly, Total members are 389. Members elected from British Provinces(11) are 292, they elected indirectly by system of proportional representation by provincial assembly members. Each member represents almost 10 lakh people and 93 members are nominated from Princely states/Indian states(552). Remaining 4 members are taken from chief commissioner areas Delhi, Ajmer Merwara, Balochisthan and Coorg. But due division of Pakistan and Hindustan, members are reduced to 299.

B.R.Ambedkar lost his membership from Bengal but subsequently elected from Bombay.

Separate Constituent assembly was set up to Pakistan and India under Mountbatten plan 3 June 1947.

India Constituent Assembly members 299, British provinces(229) and Princely states(70).

Constituent Assembly was composite body, represented cross and cream of the society. 

Constituent Assembly– INC seats 208

                                     Muslim League seats 73

                                     12 women members

                                     36 dalit Commitees

                                     15 nominated members

First Meeting of Constituent Assembly held on 9 December 1946 at central hall of parliament, Delhi. On Commencement day total 211 members were present and 88 were absent.

Dr. Sachidananda sinha was made temporary Chairman of the Assembly, addresed by Acharya Kripalani. On 11 Dec,1946 Dr. Rajendra prasad was electeld as standing President of Constituent Assembly unanimously, Dr.H.C Mukherjee as Vice president and B.N.Rao as Chief advisor( he is 1st Indian who became ICJ judge).

On 13 Dec, 1946 P.J. Nehru proposed objective resolution which was basis of preamble and accepted unanimously on 22 Jan, 1947.

Constituent Assembly appointed 22 committees, 12 substantial committees

                                                                               10 procedural committees

                                                                                15 minor committees

                                                                                 7 sub committees.

The most important is Drafting Committee headed by B.R.Ambedkar. Drafting Committee appointed on 29 August, 1947 consisting of chairman and six members


    1. Gopala Swami Ayangar
    2. Alladi Krishna Swami Aiyer
    3. K.M.Mushi
    4. Mahammad Sadullah
    5. N.Madhava Rao, Replaced by B.L.Mitter due to resign
    6. T.T.Krishnamachari, Replaced by D.P.Kethan due to death.


Draft Constitution was adopted as well as enacted by Constituent Assembly on 26 Nov 1949 but came into force on 26 Jan 1950.

Total time taken to prepare Indian Constitution is 2 years 11 months and 18 days( 09 Dec 1946 to 26 Nov 1949).


Actual working days –165 days

No of days taken to consider the draft – 114 days

Total no of sessions held,  11 sessions. Last session held on 24 Jan 1950.

Total expenditure incurred 64 millions

Total source Constitution – 60 Constitutions

Emblem of Constituent Assembly, Elephant.

Constituent Assembly also acted as temporary parliament and it elected its 1st President of India Dr. Rajendra Prasad on 24 Jan 1950.

National Flag adopted on 22 July 1947

National Anthem  approved and sung on 24 Jan 1950.

Major Committees in Constituent Assembly

 Union powers committee – Jawaharlal Nehru

Union Constitution Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru

Provincial Constitution Committee – Sardar Patel

Drafting Committee – Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights and Minorities  – Sardar Patel

Rules of Procedure Committee – Dr. Rajendra Prasad

States Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru

Steering Committee – Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Committee on the Functions of the Constituent Assembly – G.V. Mavalnkar

Order of Business Committee – B. Pattabhi Sitarammayya

Ad-hoc Committee on the National Flag – Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Special Committee to Examine the Draft Constitution – Alladi Krishnaswamy

Credentials Committee – A. N Sinha

Learn More

Link 1 – Indian constitution notes | Articles | Acts | Amendments 

Link 2 – Physics | Biology | Indian History | T-History MCQ Questions Test papers

Link 3- Buy/Download Physics MCQ Bit Bank eBook 

Link 4 – Free eBooks For Competitive Exams

Link 5 – Top Books for Competitive Exams

Link 6 – Download Quantitative and Aptitude Competitive Exams

For Complete GK/GS  – Click Here


Related search:

constituent assembly, members of constituent assembly, the constituent assembly, names of members of drafting committee of indian constitution, drafting of indian constitution, constituent assembly of india, constitution assembly of india, drafting committee of indian constitution, formation of constituent assembly, members of constituent assembly of india, committees of constituent assembly, drafting committee members of indian constitution, the members of the constituent assembly were, chairman of constituent assembly, 22 committees of constituent assembly, legislative assembly india, drafting committee of constituent assembly


6 Best PC Games like Fall Guys in 2024 6 Best Gaming Phones to Play Free Fire MAX in India (2024) 6 Best Gaming Phones for BGMI in India (2024) 10 Best Building Games on PC in 2024 Review: Why Buy Lava Blaze Curve 5G? Sale is Live!